"The course compares very well to other courses that I have taken. The use of examples from 'real life' outside the 'box' of projects was particularly good. The organization of the course topics was outstanding."
Alycia Smith, Software Steering Committee SEPG, Raytheon Systems Company



IEEE/EIA 12207 Industry Implementation of International Standard ISO/IEC 12207: 1995 
IEEE/EIA 12207 is the industry implementation of ISO/IEC 12207, "Software Life Cycle Processes." It was adopted for use by the United States Department of Defense on May 27, 1998. At the same time, MIL-STD-498 was canceled.
IEEE/EIA 12207 presents requirements for five primary software life cycle processes that span the entire software life cycle. These define the roles of software acquirer, supplier, developer, operator, and maintainer. In addition, the standard includes requirements for twelve additional organizational and supporting life cycle processes, and guidance on tailoring.
The standard incorporates a novel management approach in which each of the five primary processes instantiates the organization’s management process, and either executes other primary processes or is itself executed by one or more of them. As they interact, the primary processes execute supporting processes defined by the standard.
IEEE/EIA 12207 is packaged in a three-volume series. The volumes are: IEEE/EIA 12207.0-1996 (the base standard), IEEE/EIA 12207.1-1997 (guide to life cycle data), and IEEE/EIA 12207.2-1997 (guide to process implementation). The base standard consists of the unaltered text of ISO/IEC 12207 together with additional, explanatory annexes. The other two volumes of the series contain guidelines derived from MIL-STD-498 and its data item descriptions (DIDs) via J-STD-016, and from IEEE software engineering standards, with a few additional influences.
A major difference between IEEE/EIA 12207 and ISO/IEC 12207 is that the ISO standard only mentions types of data items to develop and record during the software life cycle. IEEE/EIA 12207 goes far beyond the ISO standard in describing data by listing relevant data item descriptions associated with other standards.
IEEE/EIA 12207 is a sophisticated standard. It offers a comprehensive checklist of questions to ask when planning a software acquisition or software development project.


Description. This course presents detailed explanations of all of the software life cycle processes in the base standard IEEE/EIA 12207.0-1996. For each of them, it presents the process requirements in the core ISO/IEC 12207 standard and shows how they are interpreted and implemented by the additional guidance in IEEE/EIA 12207.0-1996 and by the guidance that appears in the two guide volumes IEEE/EIA 12207.1-1997 and IEEE/EIA 12207.2-1997.
The course includes an explanation of  how this standard may be used to coordinate use of several Software Engineering Institute Capability Maturity Models (CMM, SE-CMM, and SA-CMM) and ISO 9001 prior to release of the SEI CMMI product suite in 1999.
Objectives? Participants who complete this course will be able to compare IEEE/EIA 12207 to other common process standards and assess the impact on their organizations of adopting this standard. They will be able to describe the primary software life cycle processes in IEEE/EIA 12207 and the supporting and organizational life cycle processes. They will understand the IEEE/EIA 12207 approach to management. They will be able to incorporate appropriate requirements from this standard into a software development plan for a project and into their organization's defined software process.
1. ISO/IEC 12207 Core Requirements 
  • Primary software life cycle parties  
  • Processes and agreements  
  • Using the standard for small projects 
2. IEEE/EIA 12207 Additions and Changes to the Core Requirements 
3. The IEEE/EIA 12207 Management Model 
  • Elements of management (and the Deming cycle) 
  • Management of primary and supporting processes  
4. IEEE/EIA 12207 Project-Level Processes and Data Items  
  • Primary processes (acquisition, supply, development, operation, maintenance)  
  • Supporting processes (documentation, configuration management, quality assurance, V&V, joint reviews, audits, problem resolution)  
5. IEEE/EIA 12207 Organization-Level Processes and Data Items  
  • Infrastructure process 
  • Training process 
  • Improvement process 
6. Using SEI Maturity Models with IEEE/EIA 12207 
7. Making Sense of All the Standards
Materials? Students receive copies of the instructor's slides, exercises, the Abelia tailoring checklist for IEEE/EIA 12207, copies of all three volumes in the standards series (IEEE/EIA 12207.0-1996, IEEE/EIA 12207.1-1997, and IEEE/EIA 12207.2-1997), supplementary reading, and an Abelia Corporation Certificate of Completion. We prepare and distribute all handouts  in compliance with our strict standards for quality.
Who Should Take the Course? This course is designed for software acquisition personnel and project managers, software development personnel and managers, and quality personnel who plan to use this standard during a software life cycle.
Duration? The course takes two full days.

Capability Maturity Model and CMM are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.